We have been pleased to receive the following reviews:

annelouise Bedford, United Kingdom

New Year in Cornwall

 Left on Jan 4, 2017 for a stay in Dec 2016
After leaving it late to find a holiday rental for 7 adults and 4 children we came across Evergreen Lodge and were lucky enough to be able to secure it for our 4 night stay. The house was plenty big enough and in a beautiful location. We had a wonder stay and would most definitely go back again! We all had a lovely time and the house was very homely. The kids especially loved the media room to watch their programs on!
August 19 2016  Rhod J London,

We have just spent a week at this venue. One "Grannie", 3 daughters and other halves, seven grandchildren and four dogs. The house is spacious with all the facilities that you need. The enclosed garden is a real bonus with dogs in mind. There is a very good local shop. But the absolute highlight of this place is its proximity to the beaches. You can walk to Polzeath (surfer central), Daymer (great for families, far more sedate) and Rock (where you can get the ferry to Padstow). So all the difficult debates about who drinks and who drives go out of the window. You can throw the car keys away for the week. Note also that you dont have to walk on the main road. If you turn right out of the back gate, you can cut down to the cliff path (stunning views) and turn left for Daymer and right to Polzeath. All in all I would highly recommend this property.

July 29  2016 

Well equipped family holiday house with panoramic views of Camel Estuary”  

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Very spacious well equipped ideally placed house

This was our first time at the property but have been coming to the area, which we love, for many years. As two families and guests this property works brilliantly. Ideally situated on Greenaway, you have the choice of three beaches, all an easy walk. The house has so much space with several recreational areas and lovely gardens front and back. Wonderful views from the terrace. The owners were very quick and efficient to sort out any issues. It was hugely enjoyed by all who stayed there. Will be heading back next year.

A wonderful house in a superb location  *****

 Left on Aug 22, 2016 for a stay in Jul 2016
We have been holidaying in Cornwall for a good few years and I have to say this is the best house we have stayed in.We are a group of 12 (3 families) with children ranging from 10 to 15 years. We all loved Evergreen Lodge. Kitchen-very well equipped with everything you could possibly need, plus a large breakfast table. Lounge area-plenty of chairs and settees. Dining room-had a table big enough to fit us all around and more! Media room-great for the kids. Bedrooms-all a good size and great to have linen and towels included. Good size garden, bbq, plenty of garden furniture and a lovely view from the balcony. We didn't need to use the cars during the week,as we had an Asda food delivery on arrival and the house is walking distance to Daymer Bay, Polzeath Beach and Rock ferry. We can recommend The Oyster Catcher and The White Heron (again both walking distance) for drinks and meals. To sum up a wonderful house in a superb location. Thank you for letting us stay.

Colin      16 March 2016


Excellent property for family holidays

        *****

Had a fantastic week I'm March 2016 . Spacious house, very clean and well equipped. Perfect location to enjoy Rock ,Polzeath and Padstow. Local shops around the corner. Lovely view from the garden.

November 2015

Great for large families and dogs!

 Left on Nov 2, 2015 for a stay in Oct 2015
This house is in a great location, only a lovely 15 minute coastal walk to Daymer Bay, and only Padstow is also within easy reach. We took small children, teenagers, dogs and Grannies and the house was a hit with everyone of us! The garden is completely secure for dogs and there is no chance any escape! We hired the whole house so had the use of two sitting rooms so the grannies and children did not have to fight over the TV!  Sophie

August 17 2015

Dear David,

     Once again we all had a very memorable stay at Evergreen Lodge, the weather on the whole was kind to us , apart from the  Thursday when it rained almost all day , after our busy week nobody seemed to mind that instead of the usual  beach and crabbing it was a games and  jigsaw day .
     Every  year we wonder what  improvements you have  added etc and among those this year was the larger  Patio  and garden works etc   we all much admired and enjoyed the new patio area.
      Once again we would very much like to book again for 2016  , and we sincerely hope that   this  will be possible.
        With many thanks for what was once again  for a very memorable week with our family in a beautiful part of Cornwall.
      We send our regards to you and your family ,
              

                                    Dawn

FANTASTIC HOLIDAY HOUSE

  • Review Submitted: 02-Nov-2014     Rating:
  • 4 out of 5
        Very spacious well equipped holiday house with stunning views.                                      With beautiful beaches and surfing on your doorstep.


“Beautiful house in a great location where you can walk to several beaches”
5 of 5 starsReviewed August 10, 2014

Our large family of 8 adults, 6 children and a dog stayed here in July 2014. Evergreen Lodge is the most beautiful home with lots of space, prettily decorated rooms and a safe back garden, where neither dog or children could escape from. The kitchen is fitted out with everything you could need and meals can be taken in the kitchen, dining room and of course outside. Plenty of chairs and tables. 

Only thing missing, that would have been nice, are a few sun loungers.

The living room is spacious with comfortable settees and armchairs. What was a bonus for the teens in our party was the media room, with a games console and loads of games. Also the huge collection of DVDs etc was remarkable. If we had been house bound with bad weather this would have come in very useful.
The main bedroom with the balcony was pretty and large, as were all the bedrooms. All the family felt very spoilt.

“Comfortable and welcoming family home”

5 of 5 stars
Reviewed August 8, 2014l

Our stay at Evergreen Lodge was part of a rare family get together with our family coming from South Africa, my brother's from Australia and our mother from Somerset. With five children between the ages of 3 and 16 it was the perfect base, with plenty of space for everyone to relax at their own pace. Having the extension bedrooms as well as the main house meant that we had three separate bedroom areas (7 bedrooms in all), so teenagers weren't bothered by small kids' early wake-ups and parents could lie in too! We loved the kitchen/sun room with a big long table for breakfasts, another long table in the dining room and the wonderful views from the lounge, where there was enough sofa space for us all. And the kitchen was well equipped for large numbers with plenty of plates and cutlery and big enough pots, which is a rarity in holiday rentals!
It was a great location too, up on the hills above the Camel estuary, with lovely walks to a choice of beaches. Daymer Bay is the perfect sandcastle beach on the estuary safe for small kids, there's another rock pool beach further along the cliff walk, and it's easy enough to walk into Polzeath for surfing.
Another plus for toddlers and small kids is the enclosed garden with a soft grass lawn and an outdoor shower for sandy returns from the beach.

August 2013
Wonderful house that feels like home the moment you enter it - and a perfect location.”   Rebecca

May 2013

Hi David
 
I wanted to thank you again for letting us use your super Cornish house during half term. Everyone had a fabulous time and my 4 year old would like to live there permanently. We took the dog with us so I will send you a cheque for his stay. He loved it. Walking without a lead was heaven for him.  Sophie loved the new cot and we used the kitchen scales for some rainy day baking too - much appreciated.
We would love to return next May half term
 
Review Submitted: 05 September 2012 Date of Stay: August 2012
Thank you so much to David and the family for allowing us the privilege of holidaying at Evergreen Lodge. We had 13 people, from mid 50's to 7 yrs old. The rooms comfortably catered for our every need. The kitchen made for a great meeting place and one of the great glories was lazy breakfasts with room for everyone to wander in and out and socialise.

We didn't travel much as everything we needed for a perfect holiday was in walking distance, so we truly relaxed. In particular the house is very well equipped, especially with kitchen equipment, and there are little vitals like salt and pepper and washing up liquid left from previous guests, not the usual stripped bare feel one gets with many holiday rentals. Very importantly the beds are comfortable, the rooms well appointed and the atmosphere very welcoming.

It all amounted to one of the best holiday we have had. We would love to go back. What ever the weather or the season this lovely house will warm your hearts and all you need is good company for the perfect holiday.
_________________________________________________________________________

 

It was our turn (wife and myself) to choose the location and accommodation for our 14-strong walking group of friends. We were SO fortunate to discover Evergreen Lodge. It is located in a most beautiful part of England, ideal for magnificent coastal walks and also inland walking on the Camel Trail, on Bodmin Moor and elsewhere. The area is full of interest: historically (churches, John Betjeman, Bodmin Moor's tin mines and standing stones; Lanhydrock House (Bodmin), Beechingisation ...!); culinarily (Rick Stein in Padstow!, but we also had an excellent, inexpensive 'bar' meal at the St Moritz Hotel directly opposite Evergreen Lodge), botanically (the thrift and primroses along the coast were amazing in May, plus quite a few rareties); etc..

As for the house itself, it suited our group wonderfully. It was extremely comfortable despite its odd layout, being spacious, well equippped, clean and well serviced by its helpful caretaker, Jackie, who lives not far vaway and is available by phone to answer any queries. However, do beware that one of the bedrooms with twin beds is more child-sized than suited for comfort-seeking adults. The house affords magnificent views, and has a pleasant garden. See another review, more relevant to midsummer than May, though it was a delight to relax with a G&T or glass of wine on a garden.bench or chair of a May evening. The gate at the bottom of the garden affords easy access down towards the Camel estuary. A padlock on it might be a good idea for restricting toddler excursions in that direction.

The local amenities include the village shop two minutes' walk away, and quite a good selection of shops plus post office in Rock , a short car ride away. Wadebridge provides good shopping with major retail chains and supermarkets, 20 minutes by car.

All in all, my wife and I cannot recommend Evergreen Lodge too highly for a wonderful week's holiday for a largeish group.

    May 2012

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

Veronica,  Buckinghamshire

Rating  4 out of 5                                                                           Date of stay   July 2011
                                                                      

"Perfect for family holidays"

Have been renting this house for a few years now. Perfect for 3 or 4 families to share together as you all get privacy and own bathroom. Kitchen great for communal cooking and eating together. Easy pleasant walks to Daymer Bay and Polzeath. Great local shops in nearby Rock. House always fresh , clean and well equipped. Owner always pleasant to deal with and helpful if he can rearrange dates.

Rating  
5 out of 5

''Lovely for family get-together''

Rosemary SE England

Review Submitted: June 30, 2011 Date of Stay: June 2011

Super, spacious house with lots of room for all guests to have their own space. Very well equipped and comfortable. The owner is very helpful in planning the stay. 
Property is in lovely location with excellent walks from the house, as well as easy access to Eden project, st Ives, etc. 
We loved the fun crossing by ferry from nearby Rock to Padstow, where you can eat in a different Rick Stein establishment every day. 
Very indifferent weather didn't spoil a most enoyable week. We would love to make it a regular visit!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children 


Rating
5 out of 5

''25 years holidaying at Evergreen Lodge''

Arthur and Pat Gloucestershire, UK

 

Review Submitted: August 17, 2010 Date of Stay: June 2010

 

We must have the longest history as holidaymakers at Evergreen Lodge as we have been going there now every year for 25 years. We are now in our 80's and all our family have been to Evergreen Lodge at various times and all the daughters and 7 grandchildren have had wonderful holidays there with us. In the early days we made use of the cot and high chair but now we sit back and let the others do the cooking, though we still enjoy our trip to Wadebridge Co-op for the shopping. Our youngest grandchild is hoping to set off for University in the Autumn and we can still see her as a baby sitting in a washing-up bowl on the lawn. Arthur plays golf at St Kew nowadays as his glory days of playing at the challenging St Enodoc course are gone. We celebrated our Ruby Wedding at Evergreen Lodge and we all remember the waiters from the St Moritz hotel (which used to be across the road) coming across the lawn expertly balancing trays with our dinner. Then after dinner we had a sing-song, of old and new, and discovered for the first time that our son-in-law had a lovely tenor voice. 

Over the years the family has enjoyed many activities that are available nearby: dinghy sailing at Rock, surfing at Polzeath, flying kites on Brea Hill, playing cricket on the huge beach at Daymar Bay, rock pooling at Greenaway beach. When the weather was wet we've lit a fire and stayed in. The views from the house are wonderful, especially from the balcony where you can see a 360 degree view - of the camel estuary, Padstow, St Enodoc Golf Course, Brea Hill and the open sea. 

This year we enjoyed seeing all the improvements made to the house, now incorporating the next door flat. We highly recommend Evergreen Lodge to anyone who wants a lovely house far from the madding crowds who collect occasionally al Polzeath and Rock, with all modern amenities and never too far from civilisation, and the local shop! We try and book up as soon as possible for the next summer holiday.


Rating

5 out of 5

''Just like home''

Gabriellle and Chris USA

Review Submitted: November 26, 2009 Date of Stay: November 2009

Evergreen lodge was a great place to stay with a fully equipped kitchen, comfortable beds, even a fire place to stay warm by on cold autumn afternoons and evenings. We went in November expecting to be quite cold, but the house was warm and cozy after incredible days hiking on the bluffs, strolling on deserted beaches, and enjoying the quaint nearby villages without any crowds. Perfect time to visit! There is a great movie collection and library to while away those hours when the rain would not stop as well. And what incredible crystal clear views for miles when the rain stopped and the sun poked through. Lovely place, lovely time.


Rating

5 out of 5

''Our favourite family holiday house in Cornwall''

Kristin and Heine and family Voss, Norway

Review Submitted: October 20, 2009 Date of Stay: September 2009

We have had the pleasure of staying in Evergreen Lodge several times and have had some of our best family holidays here. The house is spacious and comfortable and is ideal for two or three families to stay together. There are excellent beaches nearby, and our children love surfing in Polzeath. The area is good for coastal walks, and there are many other attractions nearby. We can recommend Evergreen Lodge and look forward to our return next year!


Rating

5 out of 5

''Beautiful comfortable home''

Two Walkers London

Review Submitted: October 19, 2009 Date of Stay: October 2009

I wandered lonely as a cloud until I found this wonderful abode. I think I have died and gone to heaven (or is it haven?) My wife is particularly struck with the kitchen and views. I may have to leave her here (but that is just a bonus).


Rating

5 out of 5

''Fantastic location for a great family holiday''

Tiggers Hampshire

Review Submitted: September 6, 2009 Date of Stay: August 2009

This is a lovely house in a wonderful location. You can walk to a lovely beach - wonderful for children with rock pools. Safe, fenced garden for children and dogs. Fantastic little village shop just around the corner which sells everything. Near to Polzeath for surfing and Rock also whilst being in a quiet location so you are not bothered by noisy youngsters returning from lively evenings out! Highly recommended.